Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Girl Before

A Novel

by JP Delaney

eBook

0 of 1 copy available
4 people waiting per copy

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.
    SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD
    Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.
    The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.
    EMMA
    Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.
    JANE
    After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.
    Praise for The Girl Before
    "Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."—Lee Child
    "The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."—The New York Times
    "J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."Vanity Fair
    "Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."American Booksellers Association
    "This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017. We may only be a few weeks into 2017, but we're calling it early: This year, The Girl Before will be that book. The upcoming novel by author J. P. Delaney has all of the makings of a sexy murder mystery that is sure to hit the bestseller chart, and it already has the movie deal to prove it."InStyle
    "Delaney has created a genuinely eerie, fascinating setting in One Folgate Street. . . . The novel's structure, volleying back and forth as first Emma and then Jane begin to question their improbable luck, is beautifully handled. The pages fly."USA Today
    "The house has a dark past and a landlord that's anything but welcoming."New York Post, one of the must-read books of the week
    "The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels."The Washington Post
    "The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it."—Joseph Finder

  • Expand title description text
    Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

    Kindle Book

    • Release date: January 24, 2017

    OverDrive Read

    • ISBN: 9780425285053
    • File size: 5531 KB
    • Release date: January 24, 2017

    EPUB eBook

    • ISBN: 9780425285053
    • File size: 5531 KB
    • Release date: January 24, 2017


    Loading

    0 of 1 copy available
    4 people waiting per copy

    Formats

    Kindle Book
    OverDrive Read
    EPUB eBook

    Languages

    English

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
  • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.
    SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD
    Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.
    The request seems odd, even intrusive—and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.
    EMMA
    Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant—and it does.
    JANE
    After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space—and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.
    Praise for The Girl Before
    "Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning—a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."—Lee Child
    "The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . [J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."—The New York Times
    "J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."Vanity Fair
    "Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."American Booksellers Association
    "This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017. We may only be a few weeks into 2017, but we're calling it early: This year, The Girl Before will be that book. The upcoming novel by author J. P. Delaney has all of the makings of a sexy murder mystery that is sure to hit the bestseller chart, and it already has the movie deal to prove it."InStyle
    "Delaney has created a genuinely eerie, fascinating setting in One Folgate Street. . . . The novel's structure, volleying back and forth as first Emma and then Jane begin to question their improbable luck, is beautifully handled. The pages fly."USA Today
    "The house has a dark past and a landlord that's anything but welcoming."New York Post, one of the must-read books of the week
    "The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels."The Washington Post
    "The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it."—Joseph Finder

  • Expand title description text